window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-166850654-1');
Date 29/09/23 Time 13:00 GMT+1 Location Amsterdam, Netherlands
13:00 GMT+1
Amsterdam, Netherlands

Event Details

Philharmonic Friday Concert Series, Bernard Haitinkzaal

Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 8 in b minor, D759, “Unfinished”
Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring Suite

Fergus McAlpine, Conductor

Orchestra of the Conservatorium van Amsterdam


Schubert’s “Unfinished Symphony” remains to this day one of classical music’s main mysteries. Like the 7th Symphony (which was left as a series of sketches), there isn’t a definitive reason that the work remains unfinished – not because of his untimely death, at least, due to the fact he wrote one of his largest symphonic works, the “Great” Symphony afterwards. Theories have been made connecting the third and fourth movements to his incidental music to “Rosamunde”, however no written evidence to suggest this is the case.

Originally, Copland did not have a title for the his “Appalachian Spring”, referring to it simply as “Ballet for Martha” – a title as simple and direct as the Shaker tune, Simple Gifts, quoted in the music. Shortly before the premiere, Graham suggested Appalachian Spring, a phrase from a Hart Crane poem, “The Dance”, from a collection of poems in his book, The Bridge.

O Appalachian Spring! I gained the ledge;
Steep, inaccessible smile that eastward bends
And northward reaches in that violet wedge
Of Adirondacks!

The word spring denotes a source of water in the Crane poem; however, the ballet is a journey to meet springtime.


Admission to this concert is free